Chapter Awarded Best Newsletter Honors at National Meeting

The 2018 Chapter Awards Program recognizes chapters that did exemplary work in the areas of state government relations, newsletter communications and special projects during 2017. Winning chapters were honored at October’s Chapter Leadership Program in Chicago.

Chapter Newsletter Award

  • Small Chapter Category: West Virginia Chapter
  • Medium Chapter Category (tie): Massachusetts & Rhode Island Chapter and Southern New Jersey Chapter
  • Large Chapter Category: Florida Gulf Coast Chapter

Hot Topic/Special Projects Award

  • Long Island Chapter
  • Government Relations Award
  • Greater Tennessee Chapter


George Olasin Award

The George Olasin award is given to a member of our chapter who has given years of dedicated service to the chapter and exhibited a high standard of ethics and professionalism in their appraisal practice. This award is named after George Olasin, 1962 Chapter President, who passed away in February 2011.

The George Olasin award for 2018 was awarded to Edward T. Molinari, SRA, AI-RRS. Ed is a lifelong resident of Southern New Jersey and an active member of our chapter. He has served as our chapter President three terms, and every officer and director position as well as various committees. He also served as the Regional Education Liaison, Ethics and Counseling Committee, Regional and National Nominating Committee, two 4-year terms on the National Education Committee, and various project teams. He is a two-time recipient of the AI Volunteer of Distinction award.

In 1991 he received the SRA designation and in 2018 he received the AI-RRS designation. In 2004 he became certified as an Instructor for the Appraisal Institute and he teaches several appraisal courses in the classroom and on-line. He has also assisted with the development and review of courses and has been a guest speaker and panelist for several different organizations. He has appeared as an expert and testified before the US District Court, the Superior Court of New Jersey, the Tax Court of New Jersey, various condemnation hearings, county boards of taxation, and zoning boards.

Ed has appraised all types of real property for various purposes and clients. He has extensive experience in land valuation, easement valuation and litigation support. Prior to entering the appraisal profession Ed served an apprenticeship and worked for 8 years as a rigger at the Philadelphia Naval Shipyard. He quickly grew tired of the dangers and cold winters climbing masts and working on ships in the frozen river and in drydock so he took some night classes and began his appraisal career in 1986. He started as a staff appraiser and subcontractor for a few different companies until the recession of 1990 when he had no choice but to go on his own. From 1990 to 1998 he attended college part time and earned a degree in economics from Rowan University. His company and client base grew each year and in 2002 he moved into his current office in Woodbury and formed Molinari & Associates, P.C.

He is very appreciative of his family and chapter members who have supported him throughout the years. Ed recently joined the US Army Corps of Engineers and his son Justin is now continuing the tradition of providing professional appraisal services at Molinari & Associates, P.C.

Past Award Recipients

1997          George Olasin, MAI, SRA
1998          Allen Black, MAI, SRA
1999          Richard Sheldon, MAI, SRA
2000          Norman C. LeGore, MAI, SRA
2001          Henry Herskowitz, MAI, SRA
2002          Alvin Rosen, SRA
2004          Edward J. Bligh, MAI, SRA
2005          Michael D. Jones, MAI
2007          E. Guy Elzey, Jr. SRA
2008          Robert Sapio, MAI, SRA
2010          Howard Rosen
2015          A. Craig Black, SRA
2016          Tim Sheehan, MAI, SRA
2017          Patrick K. Conover, MAI
2018          Edward T. Molinari, SRA, AI-RRS

2019 Southern New Jersey President Charles McCullough, MAI, AI-GRS, received the Best Chapter Newsletter certificate from Appraisal Institute President James L. Murrett, MAI, SRA

Edward T. Molinari, SRA, AI-RRS (right) presented with the 2018 George Olasin Award by Stephen S. Wagner, MAI, SRA, AI-GRS, 2019 National President of the Appraisal Institute.